Welcome to the ChipTalk Community

Want to join the rest of the ChipTalk members? It is free to sign up today and unlock new features, discussions, and reduce the advertising.

Sign Up

Need a ruling

Discussion in 'Home Poker Rules' started by crussader, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. crussader

    crussader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    NL Holdem tournament. Three players in the hand. Player 1 announces all-in. Player 2 announces call, puts chips in the pot, and turns their hand face up. Player 3 has not acted. Is player 2's hand dead?
     
    #1
  2. ericmalone

    ericmalone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    A MYSTERY!
    Hand not dead, but very stupid move. Action continues to player 3.
     
    #2
  3. mike33

    mike33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deep Stacked
    I read part of the Tournaments section in RROP and it looks like Player 2 can be given a penalty, but you can't rule the hand dead.

    Penalties usually amount to a certain amount of time you're unable to play a hand.
     
    #3
  4. dap325

    dap325 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    I wouldn't say the hand is dead, but he did just put himself at a big disadvantage, because player 3 gets to act knowing player 2's hand. His bad. If it becomes a problem (not just a 1 time mistake) than start penalizing them with a sit out for a certain amount of time.
     
    #4
  5. mike33

    mike33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deep Stacked
    Not sure how that happened. Stupid internet connection.
     
    #5
  6. luckychick

    luckychick Creativity Alliance

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Did P2 turn over P1's hand as well? Or just his? If he turned over both, I would definitely give P2 a penalty.

    Both RR's and TDA agree that you can not kill a hand in this situation, but assess a penalty (which is generally sitting out for a certain length of time). The reason is that a penalty such as killing a hand ends up potentially penalizing/benefiting other players in the tourney (e.g., let's say that P2 has AA and is the big stack, and P1 is a small stack - he could knock out P2 quite easily. By penalizing P2, you also penalize P238 - who is also a small stack, and near the bubble would really like P1 to bust).

    In fact, according to RR's hand killing in general is frowned upon much more than it happens in many casinos.

    P3 gets bonus info.
     
    #6
  7. crussader

    crussader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Thanks everyone
     
    #7

Share This Page