Welcome to the ChipTalk Community

Want to join the rest of the ChipTalk members? It is free to sign up today and unlock new features, discussions, and reduce the advertising.

Being put on the no invite list

Discussion in 'Home Game General' started by Mojo1312, Apr 5, 2015.

1. Mojo1312

Mojo1312 Well-Known Member

I moved to a rural part of my State in May of last year. I quickly got involved in a 18 to 20 player $50 weekly tournament, which I attended on and off during the Summer. I started playing on a regular basis this past fall, and met another player at the end of the year who hosted a weekly cash game close to where I live.

The group consists of mostly young players in their early twenties. The host is in his mid thirties, and there is one other player in his early thirties. The younger players fancy themselves as being quite good at the game. They brush off their losses to bad luck. The host is a little clever, and the other older player is fairly adept, but he has a tendency of over using aggression to try to win hands. (A strategy that generally works out well for him, but one that he does not employ against the host very often.)

I played a little bit cautiously my first time out because I didn't know any of the younger players, and the host rarely attended the weekly tournament. I won $50, and another $150 the following week. I won $50 to $100 in each of the next three games that I played in. I dropped out for a bit because I didn't care for the fact that most of the younger players were not really in a position where they could afford to lose $60 to $100.

I took a new job a couple of months ago that has me working a lot of hours. I only have time to play on the weekends, which leaves me with the above game. I went out there two weekends ago and sat down half-way through the session and left $290 up. A large chunk of the money that I won came off of the Host and the other older player who had already lost over $100 before my arrival.